



UniFi Gateway | Compact Desktop
Ubiquiti UniFi Gateway Max (UXG-Max)
A compact, multi-WAN independent gateway with full 2.5G support for small-to-medium sites. It routes at up to 2.3 Gbps with IDS/IPS on UniFi Gateway firmware 4.1 or later, has five 2.5 GbE RJ45 ports, balances traffic across multiple WAN links and adds a Layer 7 firewall, license-free SD-WAN and VPN. It is managed from a CloudKey, Official UniFi Hosting or UniFi OS Server running UniFi Network 8.1.113 and later. USB-C powered, adapter included.
Quick Glance
Key Features
2.3 Gbps routing with IDS/IPS and Layer 7 firewall
Ubiquiti rates IDS/IPS throughput at 2.3 Gbps with UniFi Gateway firmware 4.1 or later, with 55,000+ IDS/IPS signatures with CyberSecure. It adds a stateful and application-aware Layer 7 firewall, DPI and traffic identification, zone-based filtering by region, domain and app, content filtering and ad blocking.
Full 2.5G ports, multi-WAN, SD-WAN and VPN
Five 2.5 GbE RJ45 ports: one WAN port and four LAN ports, one of them remappable to WAN, with a maximum WAN port count of 4 and multi-WAN load balancing. License-free SD-WAN, Site Magic, IPsec and OpenVPN site-to-site links, WireGuard, OpenVPN and L2TP VPN servers and OSPF dynamic routing.
Independent gateway, managed from your UniFi console
The Gateway Max is managed with a CloudKey, Official UniFi Hosting or UniFi OS Server running UniFi Network 8.1.113 and later. It has a quad-core 1.5 GHz processor and 2 GB memory, measures 141.8 x 127.6 x 30 mm, draws 9.6W at most and is USB-C powered with the adapter included.
Detailed Specifications
Specifications are from Ubiquiti's official technical specifications and store listing for the UniFi Gateway Max (UXG-Max). The 2.3 Gbps IDS/IPS figure applies with UniFi Gateway firmware 4.1 or later; real performance depends on the traffic and features in use.
Need-to-Know
- The Gateway Max is an independent gateway: it needs a CloudKey, Official UniFi Hosting or UniFi OS Server running UniFi Network 8.1.113 and later to manage it.
- Ubiquiti's 2.3 Gbps IDS/IPS figure applies with UniFi Gateway firmware 4.1 or later.
- The store lists one 2.5 GbE WAN port and four 2.5 GbE LAN ports, one remappable to WAN; the specification gives a maximum WAN port count of 4. Confirm your WAN plan with us before ordering.
- All Traffic Flows is available when managed with a UniFi OS Server, CloudKey Enterprise or Official UniFi Hosting. The Teleport VPN server is available on the Default site when paired with a CloudKey.
- Ubiquiti's specification lists no built-in wireless radio for this gateway. Power is USB type C (5V DC/3A) with the adapter included; Ubiquiti does not state the adapter's plug type.
Best For / Customer Benefits
Customer Benefits
- Every port is 2.5 GbE, so neither the WAN nor the LAN side is held to 1 Gbps.
- No licence needed for SD-WAN, site-to-site VPN or the VPN servers Ubiquiti lists.
- Low power draw of 9.6W at most, from a USB type C adapter that comes in the box.
- Expert advice on whether the Gateway Max or a UniFi Cloud Gateway suits your site.
Best For
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. Ubiquiti describes the Gateway Max as an independent gateway managed with a CloudKey, Official UniFi Hosting or UniFi OS Server, with UniFi Network 8.1.113 and later. If you want the gateway and the UniFi Network application in one box, a UniFi Cloud Gateway is the alternative.
Ubiquiti lists IDS/IPS throughput of 2.3 Gbps with UniFi Gateway firmware 4.1 or later. All five ports are 2.5 GbE RJ45, supporting 2.5G/1G/100M/10M.
Yes. Ubiquiti lists multi-WAN load balancing and a maximum WAN port count of 4. The store describes one 2.5 GbE WAN port plus four 2.5 GbE LAN ports, one of which is remappable to WAN. Additional internet failover is supported with the separate UniFi LTE Backup.
Site-to-site VPN with Site Magic, IPsec and OpenVPN; WireGuard, OpenVPN and L2TP VPN servers; Teleport zero-configuration VPN on the Default site when paired with a CloudKey; and OpenVPN and WireGuard VPN clients. Ubiquiti also lists license-free SD-WAN.
Over USB type C at 5V DC/3A, with the adapter included according to Ubiquiti. Supported voltage range is 100–240V AC and maximum power consumption is 9.6W. Ubiquiti does not state the adapter's plug type.
Adding a 2.5G gateway to your UniFi network?
Tell us which UniFi console you run, how many internet lines you have and their speeds, and we will confirm whether the Gateway Max fits.

