

















Epson SureColor Large Format Photo Printer
Epson SureColor SC-P8500D / SC-P8500DL / SC-P8500DM Dual-Roll Photo and Proofing Printer
The Epson SureColor SC-P8500D family is a dual-roll large format photo and proofing printer for photo labs, studios, fine-art printers and poster producers, in three models: the SC-P8500D uses 350 / 700 ml ink cartridges, the SC-P8500DL uses 1.6-litre ink packs, and the SC-P8500DM adds a fully integrated CIS scanner for print, scan and copy. All three use a PrecisionCore Micro TFP printhead with UltraChrome Pro6 ink, which Epson describes as 8-colour quality from a 6-colour printer, with dual roll, auto-switching and an auto take-up reel.
Quick Glance
Key Features
8-colour quality from a 6-colour printer
Every model uses a PrecisionCore Micro TFP printhead with Epson UltraChrome Pro6 ink, which Epson describes as 8-colour quality from a 6-colour printer, with a 0.02 mm minimum line width and Variable-Sized Droplet Technology. The SC-P8500D and SC-P8500DL pages add up to 1200 x 2400 dpi and up to 18 m²/hr in photo quality.
Dual roll, auto take-up and a choice of ink supply
All three run two rolls with auto-switching and an auto take-up reel, so long runs need fewer stops. Choose 350 / 700 ml ink cartridges on the SC-P8500D and SC-P8500DM, or 1.6-litre ink packs on the SC-P8500DL for fewer ink changes on high-volume work.
Integrated scanner on the SC-P8500DM
The SC-P8500DM adds a fully integrated contact image sensor (CIS) scanner with a dual LED (RGB) light source: scan widths from 153 mm to 914.4 mm, lengths up to 30.5 m, and up to 99 copies at 25 % to 755 %. All three models are managed through Epson Cloud Solution PORT and Epson Device Admin.
Detailed Specifications
Specifications are Epson's own, from the Epson UAE product pages for C11CJ50301A1, C11CJ75301A1 and C11CJ51301A1. Rows Epson's pages state without a unit, with an internal code or under the wrong label (power consumption, sound power, ink tank capacity, line accuracy, A1 print speed, paper thickness, roll weight, panel size, scan precision) are left out rather than guessed.
Need-to-Know
The three models share the printhead, UltraChrome Pro6 ink, dual-roll handling and body size; what separates them is the ink supply and the scanner, and Epson's pages state different widths and specification detail for each.
- Width: Epson's headline for the SC-P8500D and SC-P8500DM mentions 64-inch output, but the SC-P8500D's own paper format and borderless lists stop at 44" rolls, and the SC-P8500DM page lists a 44" spindle option, a 36" scanner and the same 1848 mm wide body. We make no 64-inch claim; ask us to confirm the media width before ordering. The SC-P8500DL page states 44" throughout.
- Epson's in-the-box list for the SC-P8500DL STD names Adobe PostScript 3, but nothing else on Epson's page mentions PostScript for it. We do not list it as included; ask us to confirm if you need PostScript.
- The SC-P8500DM page is thinner than the others: it does not publish print resolution, print speed, paper formats, roll diameter or supply voltage. Figures for the SC-P8500D and SC-P8500DL are not applied to it.
- Epson's UAE pages do not publish any model's weight, power consumption units or interface ports, and list only macOS 11 or later under operating systems. Ask us if you need a specific figure, connection or Windows support.
- The print speed of up to 18 m²/hr is Epson's figure for photo quality on the SC-P8500D and SC-P8500DL; actual speed depends on the print mode and media.
| Part Number | Model | Functions | Ink supply | Print width (Epson) | Resolution and speed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| C11CJ50301A1 | SC-P8500D | Printer (no scanner listed) | 350 / 700 ml ink cartridges; ink set in the box | Headline says 64-inch; paper formats and borderless list stop at 44" (111.8 cm) roll (see notes) | Up to 1200 x 2400 dpi; up to 18 m²/hr in photo quality |
| C11CJ75301A1 | SC-P8500DL | Printer (no scanner listed) | 1.6-litre ink packs; no ink set in Epson's box list | 44" (111.8 cm) roll | Up to 1200 x 2400 dpi; up to 18 m²/hr in photo quality |
| C11CJ51301A1 | SC-P8500DM | Print, Scan, Copy; integrated CIS scanner, 36" scan width | 350 / 700 ml ink cartridges; ink set in the box | Not stated (headline says 64-inch; see notes) | Not stated |
From Epson UAE's own product pages for C11CJ50301A1, C11CJ75301A1 and C11CJ51301A1: headlines, features, specification tables and in-the-box lists. "Not stated" means that model's page is silent.
Best For / Customer Benefits
Customer Benefits
- 8-colour quality from a 6-colour UltraChrome Pro6 ink set, as Epson describes it.
- Two rolls with auto-switching and an auto take-up reel mean fewer stops on long runs.
- A choice of ink cartridges, 1.6-litre ink packs or an integrated scanner, in the same body.
- Expert advice from AtomOffice on choosing the right SureColor P-Series model, media and options.
Best For
Frequently Asked Questions
Ink supply and scanning. The SC-P8500D (C11CJ50301A1) is a printer using 350 / 700 ml ink cartridges. The SC-P8500DL (C11CJ75301A1) is a printer using 1.6-litre ink packs. The SC-P8500DM (C11CJ51301A1) uses 350 / 700 ml cartridges and adds a fully integrated CIS scanner for print, scan and copy. All three share the PrecisionCore Micro TFP printhead, UltraChrome Pro6 ink, dual roll with auto take-up and the 1848 x 499 x 975 mm body.
The SC-P8500DL page states 44" (111.8 cm) rolls. The SC-P8500D page lists rolls of 17", 24", 36" and 44" and sheets from A5 to A0, B1 and B0, although its headline says 64-inch. The SC-P8500DM page states no print width and its headline also says 64-inch. Ask us and we will confirm the width before you order.
All three use Epson UltraChrome Pro6 ink, which Epson describes as 8-colour quality from a 6-colour printer. The SC-P8500D and SC-P8500DM take 350 ml or 700 ml cartridges and include an ink set in the box; the SC-P8500DL takes 1.6-litre ink packs.
The integrated contact image sensor scanner uses a dual LED (RGB) light source, scans widths from 153 mm to 914.4 mm and lengths up to 30.5 m, and saves to JPEG, TIFF, multi-TIFF, PDF, PDF/A and secured PDF. It also copies up to 99 copies at 25 % to 755 %. The SC-P8500D and SC-P8500DL have no scanner listed.
Epson rates the SC-P8500D and SC-P8500DL at up to 18 m²/hr in photo quality. The SC-P8500DM page does not state a print speed. Actual speed depends on the print mode and the media you use.
Need the Epson SureColor SC-P8500D for your lab or studio?
Ask us for a quote on the SC-P8500D, SC-P8500DL or SC-P8500DM, or for help confirming media width and choosing between ink cartridges, ink packs and the scanner model.

